3100 Ciera Budget Mod Planning/Worklog

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 3100 Ciera Budget Mod Planning/Worklog

Hello All! Mike827 here, I'm new to these forum's, just thought I'd say hello.

Summary at the bottom for those who don't like reading

Now lets get down to business.

I have in my possession a 1995 Oldsmobile Cutlass Ciera SL with a 3100SFI engine that has over 120k miles on it.

However, the engine runs strong and I have had no mechanical or electrical issues with the car whatsoever.

I'm no mechanic, but ever since I was young I worked on this car with my Grandfather, and I am very technically inclined (even more so with electronics), I do my own maintenance, install my own stereos, etc.

I see on this site that there is a wealth of information, however I'm trying to figure out what would be cost effective to increase performance.

I should let you guys know that I'm not expecting to have a race car, I just want to unleash a little more power which I can feel is lurking just out of reach.

I was planning on installing an intake and getting a larger diameter downpipe for the exhaust, but I was wondering what else you guys can suggest. (For example, I had never even thought about putting on a larger diameter throttle body)

Also, I was curious as to what exactly is accomplished by swapping on 3400/3500 parts onto the 3100 making a hybrid. (or am I misinterpreting the concept.)

I am hoping to turn this thread into a nice discussion about possible mods/options I have at my disposal, and ultimately into the worklog, so I will keep you guys posted!

Thanks in advance, sorry for the long read!

SUMMARY:
    CAR: Olds Cutty Ciera v6 3.1L 3100SFI 120k miles
    1. Hi, what can I do to my 3100 to make it faster, not looking for nascar, just better.
    2. I thought of intake and exhaust already, but didnt think of TB replacement, what else can you suggest?
    3. What is the point of making a hybrid 3400/3500/3100 engine?