Typical Intake Manifold Gasket Oil Leak

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Typical Intake Manifold Gasket Oil Leak

I do not have the money to have a mechanic replace my intake manifold gasket so i am going to do it myself. I own a 2001 pontiac grand am gt, know the car inside and out, except for the engine. It has 111,000 miles on it and i am fully aware of the usual intake gasket going bad in these engines.

Can someone explain to me how to replace it myself? I dont think it should be too hard but i need some good advice as this is my first time.

Originally posted by mpit91 View Post
    I do not have the money to have a mechanic replace my intake manifold gasket so i am going to do it myself. I own a 2001 pontiac grand am gt, know the car inside and out, except for the engine. It has 111,000 miles on it and i am fully aware of the usual intake gasket going bad in these engines.

Can someone explain to me how to replace it myself? I dont think it should be too hard but i need some good advice as this is my first time.
    Buy the repair manual for your vehicle and read the section covering the repair.
    1991 Pontiac Grand Prix GTP / 3.4 DOHC

Comment

Its ease, just take your time. remember where all the bolts went and make sure everything is tight before starting it. Use the new felpro gaskets (metal i believe). everything goes on the exact way it came off.

The lower intake manifold IIRC has 2 bolt holes in it, once the LIM is set into place you need to use thoes 2 holes to pull the LIM into place before the bolts that hold it to the heads will line up. TQ the LIM bolts from the center out and make sure you have all the old gasket meterial cleand off the heads and intakes before reinstallation... its all pretty self explanitory when you take it apart. don't forget to replace the Dist. O-ring while in there. once back together, fill and bleed coolant system.

S
      Shane "RedZMonte"
      2004 Corvette Z06 Commemorative Edition -VIRGIN