It's Decision Time

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• It's Decision Time

Alrighty, I need to make a final decision on what I am doing for performance and i wanted advice. My options are:

- Modding the 3100
    - Swapping in a 3500

1) Modding the 3100: I know that 240 horse should be attainable with this engine, and I already have a plan laid out for modding this (3400 top swap for starters). The advantage of this way is that I do not have the outright cost of buying the engine and can start modding it right away. I also don't have to deal with labour swapping the engine and any potential problems because of the swap.

2) Swapping a 3500: I found one of these for $750 with 9000 miles, and I'm not sure how hard the swap would be. I've never done an engine swap before. The cost of the engine and anything else I need for the swap will also be all I can afford. Once it's in i won't be able to do anything else to it for awhile. I'm wary of doing this, because I'm not sure if I have enough skill to do so. This will also be more expensive than modding the 3100.

Let me know what you think. This is all now hindering on me being able to tune the car, if I can't tune it I'm going to have to find something else.

Dual Outlet Exhaust with Resonator Delete, Front STB, Rear STB, GMPP Trailing Arms

I say to save up until you know for sure you can complete a 3500 swap with goodies. Don't forget to tune it. You're in luck with already having a 96 car.
    The small port 3100 is like the 3.1 now, prehistoric. Although if you don't care, then mod the hell out of the lil 3100. With doing a full swap, you gain teh lower miles and better power. Doing just heads up will add power, but your lower end is still untouched and might not like it.
    What type of power are you looking for? N/A or F/I?
    Lifting my front wheels, one jack at a time.

Comment