Repairing Steel Fuel Lines

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Question : Repairing Steel Fuel Lines

Is there an adapter that can lock onto steel line similar to a -6AN Braided Line Adapter, example

I know there are adapters that lock onto barbed fittings with a female -#AN fitting.

Or can I weld on an -#AN fitting to the steel line? Though, I'de rather not weld. i would have to remove the line and clean out fuel and at that point I might as well just replace.

I have a busted fuel line right after the fuel filter. It would be far cheaper to link up at the busted spot then to run new braided steel line.

Or suppose I bought new steel line (not the braided but solid), how would I attach a male fitting to connect to the fuel filter?

I am a NOOB when it comes to repairing fuel lines.

EDIT: The break isn't from rust or age, it was from removing a fuel filter. The line was bent too far by mistake and split. So I cut the split. Right now I have high pressure hose merging the busted area, but doesn't fit right (very tight and sealed, no leak under pressure but filter sits out) and the fuel filter is sticking out some. Could be dangerous if the underside of the car was skirted, ripping the fuel line open.

If this a relatively inexpensive repair at a local auto shop, I would consider sourcing the work to them. Any general quotes on price average to replace fuel line from filter to fuel rail for a 96 GP SE?

May seem like a real noob question. I am just very cautious when dealing with the fuel system, for obvious reasons.
    Last edited by Schmieder; 01-16-2010, 03:13 PM.

The right way to fix it without replacing the whole line is probably how I just got done fixing a brake line that rusted out right in front of a wheel on an Oldsmobile that belongs to a friend of mine. You need line nuts and a flare union the right size for your lines, and a double flaring tool set.