Help a Noob out! (long)

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Help a Noob out! (long)

Hi all, I'm a newbie here with a problem with a 97 olds cutlass supreme, 3100, with 136k on the clock.

Driving it yesterday, and it just died. Tried a restart, and it sounded like it jumped a tooth on the Timing Chain. I put a new Cloyes chain and gears in it today, Made sure the marks were in the same places on the new, and old gears, turned it over by hand 8 complete revolutions, and the marks were perfect. Had compression, and nothing was binding. The old chain and gears were worn, but I've seen much worse, and they were perfectly in time. Put it all back together, and it acts the exact same. Put a new camshaft position sensor in it, and it started, very hard start, but ran like crap. Thought it had to be a timing problem, and put in a new crankshaft position sensor. Didn't help at all. It still runs like it's out of time.

It has a metallic "ping" in it, but it's not rhythmic like a valve, or something in the valvetrain, but that's the area the sound is coming from. It almost sounds like a REALLY bad spark knock. I am also getting a P300 "multiple cylinder Misfire" code.

Almost one year ago, I had to do the headgaskets up. When I put it back together, I got the pushrods switched on one cylinder. One bent valve, and a broken pushrod later, I figured it out. Don't try to help your teenager while working on Mom's car! The piston wasn't hurt, about all it did was knock the carbon off the top. Got NEW GM parts, and put it together. None of the other valves were touched by me, or the pistons. Haven't had a problem since. I've rebuilt several sets of heads, and I'm sure the valvespring retainers were holding, and in place.

I'm completely stumped! I'm going to do a compression check tomorrow, But is there anything I'm missing? I thought of the coilpack, and module, but what could the "ping" be?

What are the odds of a broken cam(seen it before), or a dropped valve?