Masda RX7 repower project

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Masda RX7 repower project

I am new to this form all though not new to projects like this. I have worked with small block fords but have not worked with GM v6. I like what I read about the 60 degree V6. I would like to save a lot of research and get input from individuals who have worked on these engines, IE this form.
    I plan to use the RWD 3.4 or 3.6 or 3.8 or ...(if a 3.6 exsists). I do not want a 400 hp smoking V6 but if there is a way to get good HP from using FWD intakes on this engine, that is what I am interested in. If there is a RWD 60 degree V6 ready to roll 250 plus HP that would be good as well. I think the project part and fun part would be the swapping of intakes and such to get a stronger V6.
    I am open to any discussion. I find the RX7 convertible a solid foundation for such a swap. I know some will disagree but the rotory engine is not a solid platform, certainly not as solid as the 60 degree V6. I live in North Georgia and there is nothing like a drive through the mountains in a convertible in the spring or fall.
    Please don’t be shy and let er rip.

Welcome! Always nice to see more non-GM RWD converts in here.

To be honest, I would recommend what many of the RWD guys are doing - put in a FWD engine, preferably the 3500 found in the 05-06 Malibus and vans. You are starting out with right around 200hp, and can be built up to close to 300hp while still keeping it NA (check out Superdave's Camaro on here).
    -Brad-
    89 Mustang : Future 60V6 Power
    sigpic
    Follow the build -> http://www.3x00swap.com/index.php?page=mustang-blog

Comment