Thread: Dumb head gasket question (Fel-Pro)

Dumb head gasket question (Fel-Pro)

Which side up? Head gaskets usually have some kind of marking, i.e. "this side up"

Does the side with the Fel-Pro brand name go up? The last set was marked, and it was the side with the metal section between the cylinders.

Told you it was a dumb question!

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement

Let's go off tonight gsEnterpries's Avatar
    Normally if there is no marking, the side with the Fel-Pro name goes up. I've been a mechanic for some 8yrs and this is also how I make my living. Thats what I normally do, just stick the gasket makers name up and slap'er back together. Just make sure all the holes line up too.

-Gary

Quote Originally Posted by gsEnterpries View Post
    Normally if there is no marking, the side with the Fel-Pro name goes up. I've been a mechanic for some 8yrs and this is also how I make my living. Thats what I normally do, just stick the gasket makers name up and slap'er back together. Just make sure all the holes line up too.

-Gary
    Thanks, Gary. I wonder if it really matters?

Let's go off tonight gsEnterpries's Avatar
    I don't think it does, it's just one of those things that I've done over the years.

-Gary

Yea my new set is the same way. No markings. I was planning to put the branded side up.
    1993 EXT. CAB, 3.4L V6 TBI, 5spd manual. Sonoma
    1990 4Door, 3.2L V6 TBI, 5spd manual. 4X4. Trooper
    Because... I am, CANADIAN

Because stock sucks... pocket-rocket's Avatar
    I'm no pro, but I concur, lol.
    -60v6's 2nd Jon M.
    91 Black Lumina Z34-5 speed
    92 Black Lumina Z34 5 speed (getting there, slowly... follow the progress here)
    94 Red Ford Ranger 2WD-5 speed
    Quote Originally Posted by Jay Leno
    Tires are cheap clutches...